Welcome to fireflyprops.net. Click here to register

The whole gorram ship? (standing set)

Props So Nice They Had To Show Them Twice. Or more.

The whole gorram ship? (standing set)

Postby newbabel » Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:37 pm

Howdy, folks! This is likely to get me smacked down by somebody who's been around these forums for a while, and... well... this being my third post or so, I reckon I'll have that coming. :)

I'll go ahead and say right now that I didn't do an exhaustive search to see if this topic had already been covered, so if it has, just link me to the appropriate discussion and I'll be on my merry!

That said, I'm an independent filmmaker living in Austin, Texas, and I keep looking at fan productions for Star Trek TOS and I'm just salivating with jealousy over how there's not one, but at least TWO fully-realized recreations of the original Enterprise out there, from bridge to shuttle bay and everything in between. That's captain's quarters, corridors, Jeffries tubes, turbolifts, transporter rooms, sick bay... you name it. It exists.

So as I'm about to embark on my own Firefly fan film (more details at http://www.fireflyfanfilms.com) — in which I don't even use a ship — it got me to thinking...

What would it take to completely recreate Serenity as a standing set that everyone could use?

Now, before your iron clears leather and you make me dance the Macarena, hear me out!

1. Location: There's a lot of open land in Texas. And there's got to be a Browncoat out here somewhere who'd love nothing more than to have a full-scale replica of Serenity in their backyard. (interiors only, mind you, so it could be housed in a large warehouse-looking thing)